Bunny Stuff

My books, cross stitch, and a medley of life.

Sunday Salon – Reading Between Terms; Or, Finally a Free Weekend!

0812980182.01._SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Third term finals are over and fourth term begins bright and early at 6:00 Monday morning. What to do with two and a half days of freedom from homework and stress? How about a little reading? I started a couple of books quite a while ago and have been inching my way through them.

The first one is Clara and Mr. Tiffany by SusanVreeland. It is the story of Clara Driscoll, a designer who worked for Louis Tiffany in the late 1800s. It’s a fascinating story, not only because of the details that went into describing the beautiful glass artwork, but because it is about a woman who had a relatively successful career in a time when most people thought women stayed at home. News flash: many women worked.

Another aspect that I am just getting to is where I found out that it is Clara and not Louis Tiffany who brainstormed and designed the famous Tiffany lamps. She’s just now getting started on the dragonflies which is special to me because I own a beautiful table lamp with the Tiffany-inspired dragonfly pattern. It is one of my favorite things.

0743418719.01._SX140_SY224_SCLZZZZZZZ_

Another book I started on is Salem Falls by Jodi Picoult. It was given to me by a nurse at work who said it was pretty good for a Jodi Picoult. Both of us feel the same way about this author. Picoult is a good writer, but we just don’t know if we like her books. I had previously read Plain Truth and was completely weirded out, especially by the ending. She had a similar experience with another one of her books but assured me that Salem Falls was pretty good, so I’m going with that.

Other than that we had a pretty quiet weekend. My daughter’s car had some trouble so we went over to help with that. Correction, my husband helped with the car while my daughter and I yakked and played with Zach.

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/6124909/?claim=aud9fvkqp4b”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

May 5, 2013 - Posted by | Books, Sunday Salon

4 Comments »

  1. Clara and Mr. Tiffany sounds like an interesting book. I haven’t read any Picoult yet, although I keep thinking I should give her a try!

    Comment by Belle Wong (@MsBookish) | May 5, 2013 | Reply

  2. It’s been a long while since I read Salem Falls….one of my earlier reads by Picoult. I have enjoyed most of her books…Lone Wolf, not so much as the others.

    I love Tiffany lamps…so that one looks tempting.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Comment by laurelrainsnow | May 5, 2013 | Reply

  3. Clara and Mr. Tiffany sounds really good. I remember hearing about it a while back, and then it fell off my radar. Thank you for the reminder!

    Thank you for stopping by my blog. You do lovely cross-stitch work, by the way! I wonder how many of us book bloggers also do fiber arts or other arts/crafts? I knit, and occasionally sew or make jewelry.

    Comment by Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard | May 5, 2013 | Reply

  4. Clara and Mr. Tiffany sounds great!

    The weekend is always too short, isn’t it? Halfway through Sunday I often wish I could just have a little more time to do some fun reading..

    Comment by Iris | May 5, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

