Booking Through Thursday – Learning

I spent the day with my friend’s twins the other day. Twins who are learning to read, sounding out the words, trying to make sense of the stories in their books, and it made me nostalgic for when I learned. I still remember the distinct moment that the concept of reading clicked, with a meglomaniacal realization that, all I needed to do was learn the words and I could read anything in the whole world. (That’s my kind of world domination.)

Do you remember learning to read? What’s your earliest reading memory?

I don’t remember learning to read. It seems like I always could.  What came to  mind  was a story about my youngest daughter when she was learning to read.  They were teaching phonics at school and Melissa wanted to show me how good she was getting. She asked me to write down a word for her to read.

I wrote the name of our cat, Ginger. She looked at it and pronounced it the first syllable like “sing” er. When I corrected her she thought the mistake was the funniest thing. But it stuck. We called that cat Ging (rhymes with sing) for the rest of her life!

5 Responses

  1. The first thing I remember about beginning to first read was Mr M shopping in the grocery store. I went with the fool BTT. I figured it would be more fun. Here’s mine.

  2. that’s cute lol

    Here’s mine

  3. Love your story!

  4. What a great story! I don’t remember learning to read either. My earliest reading memories tend to be associated with our family’s many library visits and when I got to pick books out for myself. Or so I thought. LOL

Leave a Reply

