Sunday Salon – Lord of the Rings, Philosophy, and a New Stitching Exchange

The Lord of the Rings trilogy was on TV all weekend and I just couldn’ t resist watching them all. Not that it was possible to sit down for all those hours but it just having it on in the background was neat too.  Fantasy and strange worlds are great but I’ve never been very good at reading it. I just can’t picture it in my head.  The Lord of the Rings is multi-layered and the good vs evil aspects are quite intriguing.

A couple of years ago I picked up The Lord of the Rings and Philosophy and decided today to take another look at it. It is a series of essays about power, happiness, and the nature of evil. It gives one food for thought and this being spring break I have some time to actually think my own thoughts for a few days!  I won’t be going to Daytona Beach, mores the pity!

Jim and I will be going to the LA Times Festival of Books this year. It will be on April 24th & 25th, just a few weeks away. This will be our first time and we’re so excited to meet some of our favorite authors and get some books signed!! 

In addition to the April Stitch-a-long I will be participating in the Secret Stitcher Bookmark Exchange.  Last time we did cards for a person and it was so much fun.  This time we have even more people for the bookmark exchange. I am still waiting to hear who I will be stitching for and what they like. We need to stitch and send it for the recipient to receive it by June 11 and then the reveal will take place on June 15th. I like it because it gives you plenty of time to get it done. One of the things that has to be taken into account is where it is being sent. There is one lady, a real sweetheart, who lives in South Africa!

6 Responses

  1. I like the sound of those bookmarks! And it’s impossible to resist LOTR. I love watching them and would never get tired of them…

  2. Same here Alice! I used to want to live in the Shire!

  3. I’m one of those who prefers the LOTR books to the movies. 🙂 But I can understand why so many people love the latter: they are gorgeous!

  4. Hi Eva! I could never picture the towers in the books. Maybe now that I have an image, the story won’t frustrate me like it did long ago.

  5. Jaimie, are you on the e-mail list for book bloggers attending the L.A. Times Festival of Books? There’s going to be a meet-up or two or three, depending on when everyone can fit them in. I’m only going to be able to go on Sunday this year. Let me know if you aren’t on the list and I’ll forward you the most recent e-mail. It includes a link to a survey to get a feel for when and where everyone will be. Even if only to say a quick hi in passing, it’s fun to meet fellow bloggers.

    I missed The Lord of the Rings marathon! My husband and I did that one Christmas–watched all three movies back to back. It made for a very long day and night. LOL I am not sure we’ll do that again. I love the movies and I love the books. I haven’t read the essay collection you mention, but I’ll have to look for it.

  6. Wendy, I’m not on the blogger list you mentioned. I would love to see you there! Please do forward that email so I have all the info! Thanks so much!!!

Leave a Reply

