School is Out

And not a moment too soon. The laundry is calling and I need to get my life, as well as my house back in order.  And thank you again Melissa for the beautiful Mother’s Day flowers!  I wanted to post them before this but you know how it is. I started Innocent by Scott Turow which I am reviewing for Librarything. So far it is just ok but I will save my thoughts for my review. I got some work done on Queen of the Needle but just haven’t had the time to put into it. Now I should be able to get some real work done! 

As many of you already know, and thanks so much for your kind words of support, my little Pomeranian Holly ate a bunch of Tylenol PMs on Saturday. We went to see Ironman II ( not nearly as fun as the first) and when we got home were not greeted by her normal bark. Which to be honest was pretty nice.

But when we got inside we couldn’t find her. A couple of towels were on the carpet covering a large area of dog barf. Then Geoff came out of his room holding her. She looked terrible and he didn’t know what to do. He had come home from work with her like that. Later on we found the empty bottle on the bathroom floor.

It was so strange because although her eyes were closed, she couldn’t keep still. She kept moving her head rapidly from side to side and I told Jim she looked “coked out”.  Really disturbing. So even though she barfed alot up, liver damage was the biggest risk.  In fact, in these cases it is almost a forgone conclusion and we waited Monday morning for the results, figuring she would have to be put down that day.

Much to our surprise the tests came back showing no damage. None. Even though there was enough acetaminophen to eat away the lining of her stomach and large intestine and create ulcers. But that is all treatable and they gave her injections of antibiotics  and tagamet. I have three medications and she should be just fine.

I haven’t been visiting others lately and miss everyone. I really enjoy reading other’s blogs and seeing what they are reading and stitching. Things should be back to normal by the end of this week so I will visit everyone by the weekend!!

10 Responses

  1. That’s a beautiful bouquet you’ve got, Jaimie!

    I’m glad Holly is OK!

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend ahead!

  2. Thanks Melody! I hope you have a great weekend too!

  3. Hi there, thank you for your kind comments on my blog. Yours is lovely, too, we have a lot in common. I am so glad Holly is ok, it’s amazing what they can cope with. I too have finished my bookmark but daren’t show it on my blog until after the swap.

  4. My bookmark is done too and I have to get it mailed out soon. Actually Holly is not going to be ok after all but I’m too exhausted about it to talk about it now. Thanks for visiting and please come back soon!

  5. Hi Jaimie! I’m so glad to hear that Holly is OK. She’s such an adorable dog! That’s a very pretty Mother’s Day bouquet. 😀

    Sorry I came by late. I can only visit during the weekends now…

  6. I am so happy to hear that Holly is fine. What a terrible fright that must have been.

  7. Actually, I’m sorry to say that little Holly passed away. She improved for a couple days, then took a massive turn for the worse. She was gone so quickly I could hardly believe what was happening. The liver damage did not show up on the first test, it was too soon. By the time symptoms came, it was too late.

  8. I am so sorry, Jaimie, for your loss. How horrible for Holly and for you and your family. My thoughts and prayers are with you. I’m sending big hugs your way.

  9. I’m so sorry for your loss, Jaimie! {Hugs}

  10. Wendy – Thanks for your kind words and cyberhugs.

    Melody – Thanks so much. I need all the hugs I can get!

Leave a Reply

