A Couple of Firsts

I made my very first scissor fob yesterday. After seeing pictures of  cross-stitched, beaded, beribboned, beautifully made fobs I decided to give it a go.  I forgot to pull the floss through before sewing it up and had to sew it on the corner afterward. Embarrassing rookie mistake. Oh well.  Also, having never made something this small with Aida I didn’t realize how hard it would be to turn it. I’m sticking with linen in the future.  Also I want to try some beads next time.

This is the flip side of it, a little spool.

The second first is that I am uploading pictures directly onto my laptop. Or notebook.  The one I can carry around. I have a Photoshop program on my desktop but am using my laptop more and prefer fb-ing and blogging from there. Jim fixed me up with an online Photoshop program but it was much more complicated than I wanted. I like computer stuff to be really simple. So he tinkered some more and came up with something that is usable for me.

He is so patient. I get frustrated if something doesn’t work right the first time. Which reminds me of a book of short stories we have both been reading off and on.

 The Virago Book of Ghost Stories are fun short stories by some of the great women authors from the past almost 200 years. Starting with Charlotte Bronte and Elizabeth Gaskell and all the way up to Dorothy Haynes, they are lively and imaginative works. One we both read was The Haunted Saucepan by Margery Lawrence (1889-1969) who wrote over sixty ghost stories and novels.

The story itself was not very scary but it did contain some interesting images, like the one where the man goes into a dark kitchen and the lid on the saucepan lifts up like it is looking at him. That and the sounds of boiling and cooking when no one is around.  Terrific ending too.

Anyways, after the photos-on-the-computer incident today, my dear husband referenced this story. He says he will know I came back from the grave if he walks in the kitchen and a saucepan slams him upside the head.  Hi Honey. 

So between that and my fob, it has been interesting. Oh, and we finally got the direct TV fixed. The guy actually had to remount the dish because it was loose. That explains why the picture went out every time the wind blew!  Jim is taking this week off from work, no plans or anything, he had to put in for a vacation and here we are. We were going to see Elizabeth but she is taking that big test for her license this week.  Study hard Little Bit!

7 Responses

  1. You are so talented, Jaimie! I love the fob. I’m like you in that I prefer computer stuff to be kept simple. I don’t know what I’d do without my husband!

    The Book of Ghost Stories sounds really interesting. I will have to look for it as it sounds like something I would like.

  2. I love the fob too!

    I’ve that book in my pile, but just haven’t got around to reading it yet!

    Hope you’ve a great week ahead, Jaimie!

  3. Hi Wendy – Thanks! The ghost stories are really good because they also have that particular period atmosphere which makes some pretty creepy. And I am also so thankful for my patient husband who does all that nasty computer work!

    Hi Melody – thanks so much! I’m glad you have the book already. I have been pleasantly surprised by the quality of stories but just read one or two at a time. You have a great week too!

  4. Very cute fob!

    The book of short stories looks interesting.

  5. I love the fob! So pretty!

    It’s also very sweet of Jim to help you with the PC stuff.

Leave a Reply

