2010 Year in Review

Susan on fb did this for the new year and I thought that since we had such a weird year, I would take it also. I edited out some questions that really had nothing to do with me.

1.  What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?

 Had our house foreclosed.  Packed up and moved to a different state with no place to live, no job to go to, and never been to before.  How’s that?

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Honestly if I made any, I forgot them long ago.  I probably will forget any I make this year.  

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

No, but my daughter Elizabeth got pregnant. 

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Our dog Holly. I still miss her.

5. What countries did you visit?

 Stayed in the USA. I traveled like always, through books and imagination.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?

 Financial stability. A decent job.

7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

 ILM graduation, the day we moved, the day Elizabeth told us she was pregnant.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

 I have never taken a leap of faith of this magnitude in my life. Not that we had much choice. I think we landed ok, considering.

9. What was your biggest failure?

 Failure is such a defeated term. Most people would think losing their home a major failure. For us it was a way out of an increasing hostile life and a road to another, happier one.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

 I got super sick in May and had a cough that lasted for almost two months. As the foreclosure loomed, I also got regular cases of hives, a new and very unpleasant affliction.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

 My new piano. I was also grateful to be able to help my daughter Melissa with the down payment of her new car.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

 Everyone in our family. We saw what we were made of and it was good stuff.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

 Never mind. It is the same every year and I am tired of thinking about it.

14. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

 The RE Congress in March was awesome as always. My nursing class. Joining the church choir. I loved singing at the Christmas Pageant and on Sunday mornings.  It really began to be home.

15. What song will always remind you of 2010?

 Emmanuel, God With Us. Sung in choir.

16. Compared to this time last year, are you:

More grounded. More confident as a family. More hopeful in ways that I haven’t felt for a long time. Also worried. It’s what I do.

17. What do you wish you’d done more of?

 I love the Monterey Bay Aquarium. I wish I had more time there.

18. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Worrying. It doesn’t help and doesn’t change a thing for the better.

19. How did you  spend Christmas?

At our new home with 2 out of 3 of our children. Better than the last few.

20. What online  friends did you meet for the first time?

Lots! New and old friends!

21. Did you fall in love in 2010?

I fell in love with this area. Wow, it is beautiful!

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Boardwalk Empire.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

No, I am not that type of person. Though I continue to be disappointed by a few. See #13.

24. What was the best book you read? 

The Story of a Family. Really, really amazing true story about the family of St. Therese of Lisieux.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

They play lots of good oldies on the radio here. Also Paul McCartney sang on Saturday Night Live a few weeks ago and he was awesome!

26. What did you want and not get?

Difficult to say. I wanted a lot of things, good things. I wanted not to lose our house. I wanted us to find great jobs immediately.  I wanted to not have to live with uncertainty. None of those things happened.  But what a ride it has been!

27. What was your favorite film of this year?

Hmmm. Did I see any? I wanted to see The Town and a couple of others. Just didn’t get around to it. We love the movies so no doubt it will be different next year.

28. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

In my forties and a good time was not had by all. Jim and I had an argument. I saw the foreclosure coming and he was like, “it’s not happening” . Doesn’t make for good communication. And oh yeah Baby, I was right!

29.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

A fire? How could it get any more satisfying? I guess doing more cross stitch projects. Or should I say finishing more cross stitch projects.

30. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?

Hahahahahaha!

31. What kept you sane?

Who said I stayed sane?

32. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Steve Buscemi in his role in Boardwalk Empire. Very impressive!

33. What political issue stirred you the most:

Political issues no longer stir me.

34. Who did you miss?

Melissa. Always Melissa.

35. Who was the best new person you met?

My nursing teacher Joellyn goes to our new church and urged us to join the choir. We have met many new people through her. She’s great!

36. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.

Just do it!

37. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

Many nights we’ve prayed
With no proof anyone could hear
In our hearts a hopeful song
We barely understood

Now we are not afraid
Although we know there’s much to fear
We were moving mountains long
Before we knew we could

There can be miracles, when you believe
Though hope is frail, it’s hard to kill
Who knows what miracles you can achieve
When you believe, somehow you will
You will when you believeHappy New Year Everyone!

In this time of fear
When prayers so often prove(s) in vain
Hope seems like the summer birds
Too swiftly flown away

Yet now I’m standing here
My heart’s so full I can’t explain
Seeking faith and speaking words
I never thought I’d say

There can be miracles, when you believe
Though hope is frail, it’s hard to kill
Who knows what miracles you can achieve
When you believe, somehow you will
You will when you believe

Happy New Year Everyone!

2 Responses

  1. You’ve had such a busy year, Jaimie! I’m right there with you as a worrier! Boardwalk Empire turned out to be a great show, didn’t it? I really like it too.

    The city is buying our house for a transportation/safety project. My husband’s optimistic we’ll get enough money to pay off our current mortgage and have enough for a down payment on a new house. Me? Not so much. We’re upside down on our mortgage right now and I don’t think the city will go above and beyond the bare minimum. I hope he’s right. I have a feeling I’ll be right though. –Not nearly the same as your situation, but I do understand on some level.

    Here’s to a great New Year!

  2. Hi Wendy! I hope your husband’s right. Paying off your mortgage and starting free and clear would be ideal. Things are really crazy right now aren’t they? It’s hard not to worry!
    When will you find out their offer? It would be nice to know just so you can start planning.
    Boardwalk Empire rocks! The season ended all too soon!
    Have a great New Year and all the best to your family.

Leave a Reply

