Reading List – Starting Over for 2010

I’ve been reading everyone’s end-of-year reading lists on my favorite books blogs and thinking, uh oh. What happened to mine this year? I kept terrible track of my books!  And since I discovered the absolutely fabulous library here in Eugene, I can’t even look through my shelves for an “oh yeah” discovery. I read a lot, forgot most, and in doing so learned a powerful lesson. If you don’t keep track, it goes out the window.

Nothing can be done. But I have few favorites from the different genres I read. Above is Complications by Atul Gawande. This is a series of essays on the real life sometimes imperfect science of medicine. Really great stuff and highly readable. I am at a crossroads in my education right now but wherever I go and whatever I do, medicine and medical research will always have my utmost interest.

 

The Story of a Family – The Home of St. Therese of Lisieuz by  Fr. Stephane-Joseph Piat O.F.M. was terrific. I like reading spiritual books and biographies of saints and other spiritual leaders are particularly inspiring. Real people and their challenges are more suited to my taste than religious fiction.

Echoes by Maeve Binchy. How did I not know of author Maeve Binchy? Everyone seemed to know about her but me.  She is my favorite new author for the year. I have The Copper Beech sitting on my shelf waiting patiently for me.

The Girl With the Dragon Tatoo by Stieg Larsson was my browsing-through-Walmart find. I could not put this book down. Wow!

Here is my New Year’s Resolution. Even if I do not review the book, it will be listed here. I joined Sunday Salon on Facebook so that is a good start. I joined them years ago with my old blog and when I started Bunny Stuff, they were closed to new ones. So this way I can at least have that once a week catch-up.

I am out of school and waiting to take my state boards in order to get a job. So I am pretty free for the next two weeks. After that, who knows? But once a week I can commit to.

Happy New Year everyone and happy reading!

4 Responses

  1. Keeping track has definitely helped my memory. LOL Even then, I sometimes come across a journal entry and am surprised I read a particular book–I don’t remember it! More often than not though, just the action of writing it down helps me remember. I began keeping a reading journal a few years before I started my blog and my only regret is that I didn’t think to do so sooner.

    I have Echoes in my TBR collection but haven’t read it. I am glad you liked it so much! Larsson’s book made my top 10 list. I was quite impressed.

    Good luck with the state boards, Jaimie!

  2. Thanks Wendy! I’m not too worried about the written test; the skills test is where you pass or fail and they are super picky.
    I also kept a journal before blogging and both make fun pastimes to browse through. You really do forget! I’m glad you liked Larsson too. Now I know it was a good book!
    Have you linked your blog to fb yet? It makes it very easy to read and you can comment either at the blog site or the fb one.

    • It’s fun to revisit my old reading journals, I agree!

      I purposefully haven’t linked my blog to FB. I prefer to keep them separate. My FB is more for personal stuff and to keep up with family and friends, readers and non-readers alike.

  3. No matter. I will visit you wherever you are!

Leave a Reply

