The Great, the Bad, and the Worse

What a week it has been! Big ups, huge let-downs. First the good. Elizabeth was approved for a two bedroom apartment in a lovely 25 acre complex with all sorts of goodies like pool, fitness room, pool, playground. Close to school, shopping, etc. I couldn’t ask for better for her and little Zach.

Then my other daughter Melissa called to tell me that she was just offered a restaurant manager job at Buca de Beppo in Chicago! Wow!! She will just be twenty-four in a few days but oh, she is ambitious. She has been with the company for three years now. I don’t know anyone who works harder than her and she had just been promoted to assistant manager.  She is glad to finally leave Phoenix and it is her dream to open up her own restaurant. She’ll do it too.

My week? Not so good. I got an envelope in the mail yesterday from the Oregon State Board of Nursing. My fingerprints were rejected. Why you ask? Because they couldn’t read them! So I got on the phone with OSBN and was assured I could still take the test next week. She said, oh we get lots of panic-stricken calls like this, ha ha. Yeah, har-dee-har-har lady.

Then she delivers the blow. After the fingerprints are retaken it will take three weeks from receipt to get my license approved. My next class was supposed in a couple weeks and now there’s no getting in without the state required license. Everything is stalled until the next class in summer. I cannot believe this is happening. I had both the highest classroom and clinical scores in my class. Someone coming up and hitting me upside the head with a board could not have been worse.

It was a long night folks. This morning I got up and went downtown to the sheriff’s office to redo my prints. I did not have a good attitude, especially considering I was going to a place where people had guns and could break me in half. I had it in my head that they were going to charge me again for the prints and I was prepared to fight to the death for that 12 bucks.

But they were very nice. They asked me who did the last prints, and did what they could to make it right. Come to find out that I have terrible prints and they will only get worse with time. He said to expect this to happen every time. Yippee.

I’m done wallowing for now. I will talk about my new books and show a picture of Baby Garden later.

4 Responses

  1. How frustrating, Jaimie! It doesn’t seem fair that you have to put off your class now. It is great news, however, that Elizabeth got her apartment and Melissa got the manager position!

    • I’m so happy for both of them! Honestly if something goes wrong, I’d rather it be me than them. I’m trying to see it as just a bump in the road.

  2. Sorry to hear about your predicament and I hope it all gets sorted out soon. I’m happy to hear about both your daughters’ news, though. Congratulations!

  3. Thanks Alice! It turns out that the hospital may be able to do my training for the next leg of the journey. That would save me lots of money. Everything happens for a reason!

Leave a Reply

