Sunday Salon – New Books

Brand new books are a rarity around here anymore. The library has most everything and our neighborhood Goodwill has large selections and often does the 3 paperbacks for a dollar and 3 hardbacks for 2.49 sale. Who can resist that! I did break down and pay, with all my coupons and discounts, two new books that I know will be great. With the TBRs I already chose for the year, I have a good mix of fiction, crime, and thriller. I arranged them all on my bookshelf and figured if I get nothing else, it will be an excellent reading year. Now for the discipline!

Here are my new books:

The Lotos Eaters by Tatjana Soli

American Rust by Phillip Meyer

The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

Thr3e by Ted Dekker

Breathless by Dean Koontz

The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

Jackdaws by Ken Follett

Alice mentioned on her blog she will be reading The Soloist by Steve Lopez and I might pick that one up too. It was a wonderful movie and books are always better. Except of course for the incredible cello playing throughout but I can put some classical on for ambience. I’m glad she reminded me of that haunting story. Thanks Alice!

The Lotos Eaters comes very highly recommended. Even the lady at Borders mentioned it while I was checking out. I started reading it yesterday and already it grabbed me with a scene I knew well from history books but Soli has expanded to a technicolor reality. I don’t want to say anything more until my review but it is looking good.

Have a great reading week!

10 Responses

  1. You definitely have some fantastic (and BIG) reads here. I loved Pillars when I read it some years back. I’ll look into Lotos Eaters. Thank you.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon: http://readerbuzz.blogspot.com/2011/01/sunday-salon-travels-in-siberia.html

    • Maybe I’m being too ambitious but I’m trying to get a good start on the year. I’m looking forward to finally getting around to Pillars. Thanks for visiting and come back anytime!
      Jaimie

  2. Hi Jaimie, I’m so glad you might be reading The Soloist too! After reading how you felt about the movie, I can’t wait to get my hands on it. I love classical music so this is a must-watch for me. I’m going to look for The Lotus Eaters too.

  3. Wow, what bargains at Goodwill!

    I’m glad to know you’re enjoying THE LOTUS EATERS – it’s much more than a war story, isn’t it?!

    • Hi Dawn! I know, we could browse for quite a while and they are always getting new ones in. Love it! I am almost done with The Lotos Eaters so my review on it should be out shortly. What a ride!

  4. I’m so glad you have The Lotus Eaters in your pile, Jaimie! I absolutely enjoyed that book, and I can’t wait to hear what you’ll think of it!

  5. You’ve got some great reading ahead of you, Jaimie! I’ve read the first three books you mention and all are wonderful. Enjoy your new books!

Leave a Reply

