Sunday Salon – American Authors List

Danielle over at A Work in Progress  is working on her American Authors projects with this list of both classic and contemporary works. I bolded the ones I read.  A couple just have the name of the author so you can fill in the blank. What were some of your favorites? I read…..

  • Anderson, Sherwood – Winesburg, Ohio 
  • Bellow, Saul
  • Canfield, Dorothy – The Home Maker
  • Capote, Truman – Breakfast at Tiffanys
  • Capote, Truman – In Cold Blood
  • Cather, Willa – My Antonia
  • Cather, Willa – O Pioneers
  • Cather, Willa – One of Ours
  • Cather, Willa – The Professor’s House 
  • Cather, Willa – The Song of the Lark
  • Cheever, John – The Wapshot Chronicle
  • Delillo, Don – White Noise
  • Dick, Philip K. – Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? 
  • Dos Passos, John – Manhattan Transfer
  • Dreiser, Theodore – An American Tragedy
  • Emerson, Ralph Waldo – Essential Writings
  • Erdrich, Louise – The Beet Queen
  • Faulkner, William – The Unvanquished
  • Ferber, Edna – So Big
  • Fitzgerald, F. Scott
  • Hemingway, Ernest – For Whom the Bell Tolls
  • Hurston, Zora Neale – Their Eyes Were Watching God
  • James, Henry – Portrait of a Lady
  • Larson, Nella
  • Lewis, Sinclair – Main Street
  • Maxwell, William – The Chateau
  • Maxwell, William – The Folded Leaf read
  • Maxwell, William – They Came Like Swallows
  • McCarthy, Mary – The Group
  • McCullers, Carson – Member of the Wedding
  • Metalious, Grace – Peyton Place
  • Miller, Sue – The Good Mother
  • Morrison, Toni – Beloved
  • Oates, Joyce Carol – We Were the Mulvaneys
  • Parker, Dorothy
  • Powell, Dawn – The Bride’s House
  • Powell, Dawn – Come Back to Sorrento
  • Powell, Dawn – Dance Night read
  • Powell, Dawn – The Wicked Pavilion
  • Roth, Philip – American Pastoral
  • Rowson, Susanna – Charlotte Temple
  • Smiley, Jane – Thousand Acres
  • Stegner, Wallace – Angle of Repose
  • Stegner, Wallace – Crossing to Safety
  • Steinbeck, John – Cannery Row
  • Steinbeck, John – East of Eden
  • Steinbeck, John – Of Mice and Men
  • Steinbeck, John – The Grapes of Wrath
  • Thoreau, Henry David – Walden – Partially
  • Tyler, Anne – Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant
  • Tyler, Anne – Saint Maybe 
  • Tyler, Anne – The Accidental Tourist
  • Updike, John – Marry Me
  • Welty, Eudora
  • Wharton, Edith – Custom of the Country
  • Wharton, Edith – House of Mirth
  • Wolff, Maritta – Night Shift
  • Wolff, Maritta – Whistle Stop
  • Yates, Richard – Revolutionary Road

I am really surprised at how few of these I have read!  But the few really stand out in my mind like An American Tragedy, which I studied in college and was completely mesmorized by! Cannery Row and Peyton Place are on my must-read list. I’m kind of embarrassed that I didn’t know Truman Capote wrote Breakfast at Tiffanys. I read Main Street with my husband and we discussed it at great length. Sinclair Lewis also wrote Elmer Gantry, Babbit, and Arrowsmith, and was the first American to win the Nobel prize in literature.

The original list did not include The Accidental Tourist by Anne Tyler but I thought it should be included. I have read several others of her works as well.

Which ones have you read?

8 Responses

  1. ooh, I’ve read very few on the list (really, the classics from high school, a handful of the others). I don’t even know the works of Dawn Powell.

  2. I’ve only read a few of these myself; Henry James mainly. My preference has always been pre- and Victorian British writers for some reason. I’ve intended to read many of those, even owned quite a few of them.

    I haven’t read In Cold Blood, but have read Breakfast at Tiffany’s. If you’re expecting the movie, it is NOT. Very good read.

    Very interesting list! Food for thought as I focus on classics this year–add in a few more Americans. 😛

    • Hi Gypsi! I’m kind of relieved that Breakfast at Tiffany’s is not like the book. It seemed wrong or weird for some reason. I love pre-Victorian writers myself like Austen, Gaskell, the Bronte sisters, and many others. They really take me away! Thanks for visiting and come again!

  3. I’ve only read about four of the titles mention. How pathetic is that?

  4. Wendy – don’t feel bad! I was very surprised to see how many I’ve missed also!

  5. Hurray! At least I’ve read one: Revolutionary Road. I have almost given up and then I saw the last title on the list. 🙂

  6. Hi Alice – you are not alone! No one seems to have read many of these. I guess that’s why it is called a project.

Leave a Reply

