Sunday Salon – Reading for Fun

Reading for fun, what is that? Now that I finally can sit down and actually do just that, it opens fresh perspectives. Since August I have been wrapped up in getting my med aid license. To those of you who don’t know what a CMA (Certified Medication Aid) does, we are the ones who actually dispense medication to patients. In my case, it will be a nursing/skilled rehab facility. We give standard meds like thyroid, blood pressure, etc, and also narcotics, which must be counted at the beginning of each shift.

The class was basically a crash pharmacology course and very difficult. The background check, as you might guess, was extensive. The whole FBI thing. But my license finally came through a few days ago, yeah!! Now I can get back to my life again!

I grabbed a book from my TBR shelf and inhaled it! How sweet it was to just read! I finished it last night, how refreshing that was. This was my first by Jennifer Egan and I quite enjoyed it. Her storytelling skills are evident throughout and I hope to write a full review on it sometime soon.

On other fronts we are getting ready for Christmas. Jim found a temporary job at UPS for the holidays that hopefully will lead to full-time employment. He has been working part-time for a year now. To be honest it hasn’t been bad. He keeps the house in good order, does the chores, and has been experimenting with pizza dough and just made a fabulous home-made chicken noodle soup. Since we have enough to get by with our jobs, I’m kind of liking having everything done.

This is our little grandson looking at our tree. Everything is so brand new for them! He was enthralled when he saw all the ornaments but all he wanted to do was put them in his mouth. We took him last weekend to get his picture taken with Santa and he did very well.

I started reading The Passion of Artemisia by Susan Vreeland after finishing The Keep. It’s quite a bit different than Egan’s gothic crime ghost story. This is a historical fiction of the very real painter Artemisia Gentileschi, the only woman ever to be accepted into the Florence’s prestigious Academia for art. Google her and take a look at her work, her paintings are fantastic! I’ve been wanting the read this for some time now.

Sorry this Sunday Salon was just a mish mash post but I’m trying to bring everything up to the present. Hopefully I’ll have more to say about books next week.

Hope everyone has a great week!

2 Responses

  1. Hope you have a great week as well.

  2. Oh, I love when a hard course is finished and there is time for fun stuff.

    I love Jennifer Egan’s books, (except for The Goon Squad!), which was not my favorite.

    Loved Invisible Circus and Look at Me.

    Enjoy your week.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

Leave a Reply

