Historical Fiction – The Antidote to a Really Bad Week?

But no, I’m not going to talk about it. Just trust me, bad. Once the dust settled I wanted to settle down with a good book.  On a whim, I clicked on The Greatest Knight by Elizabeth Chadwick in my Nook library. It was on sale a couple of months ago and I snagged it along with To Defy a King. Just a few pages in and I was hooked! It’s about the life of William Marshall, a 12th century knight at the time of King Henry II and Eleanor of Aquitaine. I had already read a rather dry biography of the royal pair but this story brought them all to life. Marshall is very skilled and known for his loyalty, even when it costs him dearly.

What is it about history that is so comforting? The story is filled with war, family infighting, intrigue of every sort, envy, and betrayal. You know, just like real life. It also has loyalty, love, and hope which is real life also. We all have difficult people to deal with and not all situations end well. In fact, many are tragic. But the bigger picture shows that life and family are good, and so worth the energy and love we put into it.

Sorry if that sounds a little dramatic. I’m feeling very thoughtful these days and need to change gears. Since I finished the book I decided to start a little cross stitch project by Country Cottage Needleworks for my daughter whose baby girl is due in two weeks!!  I hope the blue background doesn’t look too boyish. It’s just supposed to be the sky. Melissa used to sing You Are My Sunshine when she was little and sounded so cute. This reminds me of her.

I hope everyone has a good week and Happy Reading!!

6 Responses

  1. I don’t read a lot of historical fiction, unless you count the 1920s…lol

    But recently, I received a review book set in the 1800s; the first in a new series called Muses of Mayfair (Heiress Without a Cause) and couldn’t put it down. Soon I hope to have the next one in the series.

    Yes…comfort reading.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. Elizabeth Chadwick is definitely comfort reading for me! I have thoroughly enjoyed a lot of her books. Now I am working my way through her backlist. It kind of makes up for the fact that there is no new book from her this year, but I am so looking forward to next year when her first book on Eleanor of Aquitaine comes out!

  3. Historical fiction is my comfort reading, too, but I prefer the late 1800s. Reading about frontier women tend the farm and cooking meals has a calming effect on me.

  4. Historical fiction is relaxing for me, too, although I don’t go as far back as you do. I prefer books set in the late 1800s. Reading about frontier women working against the elements to provide for their families has a calming effect on me.

  5. I just recently started reading, The Stolen Crown, and am loving all this rich English history!! It’s quite nice when we can get suprised by a book and/or genre…so glad you were able to find something interesting too!! 😀

  6. Blue is for girls too, so don’t worry! I envy you the approaching grandchild. And no, I don’t think you’re being “dramatic” here. I think there are times when nothing can comfort us except thinking of our life as a story.

Leave a Reply

