Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

I am usually wary of reading books that receive a lot of hype. Case in point, Fifty Shades of Grey. But sometimes the hype is justified. Anyone who says that Gone Girl is about the breakdown of a marriage does it a serious disservice. It is a SPECTACULAR breakdown of a marriage.

On their fifth wedding anniversary Amy Dunne disappears without a trace from their rented home on the Mississippi River. What follows is a dark journey into their marriage. I can’t say anything more about the plot because it would be filled with spoilers. The twists and turns are totally unexpected. Just when I felt I had a handle on the whole thing, everything suddenly plummets into an even darker place.

I’m so glad I didn’t read the reviews first because I had no idea where this story was going. I highly recommend this book.

So we are in the middle of a heat wave and my little Tweeters is coming over to spend the day and night. If it’s not too hot we’ll go out to Lone Pine Farms and feed the goats. Otherwise we’ll park it at the kiddie area in the mall and drink high-priced lemonade.  I’m also looking forward to a four-day weekend. Friday both families are going to the fair. Saturday Jim and I are going down to Odell Lake and Sunday, free Shakespeare in the park. Hopefully the heat will break by then but who knows? Time off is time off!

Leave a Reply

