The Sunday Salon – Good Reading Lately!

Nursing school starts at the beginning of October. Translation: I will have no personal life whatsoever for at least a year. So I’m prioritizing my reading to include my top TBRs. However, my best laid plans have gone off course repeatedly because great books are popping up along the way. The Boy in the Suitcase by Lene Kaaberbol was a Nook freebie that my husband raved about so much, I left my precious list to read it.

I highly recommend it. You can get it for like $1.69 on Kindle right now and it’s worth it.  BTW, the boy was alive. That is not a spoiler, it is stated clearly in the details. I simply will not read a book about murdered children. No can do. The one glorious exception is It by Stephen King. But I’m talking about regular crime dramas and thrillers.

Nina, a Red Cross nurse in Copenhagen, is part of a network that gives medical care to illegal refugees. When an old friend asks her to pick up a suitcase in a public locker at the train station, she gets the surprise of her life. What follows is an intense, fast paced story about human trafficking, kidnapping, familial deceit, and betrayal.

Another book I read was The Power Of Myth by Joseph Campbell. I’m a fan, what can I say? After reading Ragnarok, The End of the Gods a few weeks ago, I needed to read more mythology. It’s fascinating stuff.

A bazillion years ago when I was an English major back at San Jose State, I became fascinated with archetypal imagery. An archetype is a universally understood symbol that can be a model of a person, personality, or behavior. Since the beginning of storytelling time they have been present in mythology, folklore, and literature.  Carl Jung advanced the concept of psychological archetypes.

Once upon a time I did a presentation on archetypal imagery. For examples I used the Major Arcana in a Tarot deck and compared them to Star Wars characters. It was a huge hit. There were a lot of Christians in class and they were practically on the edge of their seats. Everyone knows that taboo subjects increase interest and Tarot is a major no-no.  Many people came up to me afterwards to express surprise at how-not-satanic Tarot cards are. Some people apparently use them to tell the future but, let’s get real, tea leaves are also popular among the divination crowd and no one is starting a “drinking tea is satanic” campaign.

Have I gotten off the subject of books? It’s that kind of Sunday I guess. I finally started reading The Book Thief, and I’m eager to spend my afternoon with it. I made a huge pot of chicken chili yesterday which is almost gone and tacos are on the menu for tonight. We may go to Target later for a new pastry cutter. I made scones for breakfast yesterday and my old one has definitely seen better days. Not a very exciting weekend, but I feel very relaxed.

4 Responses

  1. I haven’t yet read The Book Thief. I see from a previous post that you read Gone Girl. I loved it!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. Loved The Book Thief

  3. The Tarot card thing made me laugh. Yeah, I grew up Christian (still am) and was pretty surprised to learn that Tarot was actually a game you could play. I guess I thought they were only for divination.

    About the Tarot cards as archetypes, I’ve got a great book recommend, though you’ve probably already read it. But I have to mention it in case: The Greater Trumps by Charles Williams.

  4. Good luck with pre-nursing school days & the precious reading list. Sounds like some good ones. For more September titles check out http://www.thecuecard.com. cheers!

Leave a Reply

