Books Read in 2012 – Or, A Year Interrupted

TSSbadge4[1]This year I read just 34 books. I knew going in that it was not going to be a high count. With work, school, and all my other commitments, I simply had very little time to read for pleasure. However, I took much care in choosing the books I read. Of course there were a few dogs, there always are. I was careful in trying to locate well reviewed books, in many different genres, in order to have a solid, if pitifully small body of works read by the end of the year.

Top Five Books of the Year in no particular order:

92689786The Lady and the Unicorn by Tracy Chevalier – taking place in the fifteenth century, this story is a fictional account about the commission and creation of the series of six tapestries that now hang in the Musee du Moyen-Age, in Paris, France.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – two illusionists compete against the backdrop of a fantastical black and white circus.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – children compete to the death in a game of power and control.

82714967The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson – a clever interweaving of two stories: Daniel H. Burnham, the architect responsible for the construction of the Chicago 1893 World’s Fair and H.H.Holmes, a serial killer who designed  his own torture and murder house.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – a woman goes missing and everything points to her husband. But things aren’t always as they seem.

Most Challenging Book:

29182687The Satanic Verses by Salmon Rushdie – I will definitely reread this incredibly complex work someday. It contains highly fantastical elements along with history, legend, and family drama. This is a very controversial work in the Muslim community. If any of my Muslim fb friends feel offended that I read this, please know it was not meant in any way as an insult to you or your faith. To be honest, I do not know enough about your religion to even judge this book according to those aspects.  My ignorance in that regard has challenged me to research and understand your beliefs better. I welcome your comments.

Book Club Books:

92689820Ragnarok: The End of the Gods by A.S. Byatt – I read this for Slaves of Golconda. A young girl who escapes from the London bombings with her mother passes the time reading Norse mythology. Mythology can be quite daunting, but it was a surprising little read. Thinking back, I haven’t read mythology beside the Metamorphoses by Ovid and I barely know any Norse mythology. Check it out.

I thought I would also present my list of cross stitch finishes. Yep, here it is, my list of one.

DSC00827You are My Sunshine by Country Cottage Needleworks. I did this for my brand new granddaughter back in May when she was born.

Pretty pathetic, I know. I have so many WIP’s but at some point this year they were put on the top shelf in my closet. I knew I wouldn’t get to them. Probably most of this year will be the same. But they will wait for me.

I hope everyone had a fantastic reading year. Looking forward to 2013!

14 Responses

  1. I wasn’t a big fan of Gone Girl.

  2. Thanks for visiting! It definitely wasn’t a pleasant story. I think I liked it because of all the twists and turns. I had heard nothing about the story before reading it and I kept thinking, wow! I was not expecting that!

  3. I like your list! The Night Circus was a really good book. Ragnarok is a book that I’m hoping to read one day. Happy New Year.

  4. Great book choices. Okay, the title with “Satanic” in it, just creeps me out. But, I’d be interested in reading about the Muslim faith-good or bad.

    • Yes, it is a strange choice for a title. And it does have to do with good and evil, and it is brilliantly conceived. I recommend the book but it is not light reading.

  5. I am terrible at book counts this year too. I simply slacked and was focusing on other areas, but I really, truly hope that I will remedy that in 2013. Although you mentioned 34 books, I still think you did great!

  6. Hey, it’s okay. Life comes first. It really does.

  7. The Devil in the White City is fantastic. And of course, Hunger Games. Love it!

  8. It sounds like you read some great books this year, Jaimie!

    Night Circus was one of my favorites this year as well. It was such an enchanting and beautiful book. The Satanic Verses is one I really want to read one day. I am not sure I am quite ready for it right now, but one day perhaps.

    Have a Happy New Year!

    • Hi Wendy! Yes, Night Circus was very enchanting. I’m not sure why I tried to tackle Satanic Verses. It is definitely one you have to give your full attention to. Hope you have a great new year. Best to your family and give that little sweetie a hug for me!

  9. just checked out your cross stitch for your little granddaughter….Little girls equal sunshine…Where did you get the alphabet for the black letters at the bottom?

Leave a Reply

