Sunday Salon – Resolutions and My 2013 Reading Wish List

92896979I’m not much for New Year’s Resolutions. Not that I am against resolving to better myself in some way or another. I just don’t feel there is a perfect time to do it. The way I look at it, any day of the year is a good time for a resolution.

However this year it is different. Since I had a few days off from work and school, I spent time reading, writing about my year end book faves, and spending time organizing my Nook library. What a mess!  I visited a few old book blogging buddies and some new ones to check out their lists and say hello. To my delight, I found that many of them loved The Night Circus and The Hunger Games as much as I did. It was great to catch up and see what they had been doing. It really got me thinking.

Work and school take up an incredible amount of time. But have I been using that as an excuse to not do things that give me pleasure? Like reading? I feel like I have been letting my very real obligations nevertheless interfere with me as a person and my life to an unhealthy extent.

I realized that guess what? I do have some time left over at the end of the day. I have decided to spend it reading good books, writing reviews on a regular basis (hoping!) , and visiting people who do the same.  I love you guys.

Here are some of my wish list books. Some I own, and some I need to get. The list will change, it always does, but these are the for certain I want to read books.

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles by Haruki Murakami

Still Alice by Lisa Genova

The Book of Evidence by John Banville

Girl With a Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

Rules of Civility by Amor Towles

The Rose of Sebastopol by Katherine McMahon

The Night Watch by Sarah Waters

The Shadowy Horses by Susanna Kearsley

And Only To Deceive by Tasha Alexander

There are lots more. I have several historical fiction books by Elizabeth Chadwick that I got for .99 when a fellow book blogger alerted everyone that they were on sale in Nook. Many thanks. I also have lots of mysteries, other works of fiction, and my husband has quite a collection on his Kindle that I often borrow. It should be a good year for reading.

Have you made any resolutions? Do they have to do with reading or blogging on a regular basis?

Have a wonderful week!

5 Responses

  1. I too want to read a Susanna Kearsley book since I havent read her yet and have heard good things. My resolution is to try to read at least an hour a day of a novel uninterrupted. We’ll see if this makes me finish more books. cheers. http://www.thecuecard.com/

    • One hour a day is a worthy goal. I hope you get to read Susanna Kearsley; she is such a good writer. I read The Winter Sea last year and just loved it!

  2. I loved Cloud Atlas and Girl With a Pearl Earring!

  3. As far as New Year’s resolutions go, hardly anything does one’s mental, spiritual, and creative health more good than resolving to read more and write better. Today’s reading list addresses these parallel aspirations. And since the number of books written about reading and writing likely far exceeds the reading capacity of a single human lifetime, this omnibus couldn’t be—shouldn’t be—an exhaustive list. It is, instead, a collection of timeless texts bound to radically improve your relationship with the written word, from whichever side of the equation you approach it.

Leave a Reply

