But I digress……

dt.common.streams.StreamServerThis blog is for the very personal part of what makes me happy. I love reading books, talking about them, and yes, even getting a little nerdy about them. I have met many people, including my husband, who are voracious readers also. Through the internet, I have expanded that circle of book lovers and they in turn have expanded my literary knowledge and brought fresh joy to that experience.

I love cross stitch too, and I have joined groups, exchanges, and roundabouts. I have met people all over the world who share my love for this incredible and addictive art form. Readers and cross stitchers alike, most whom I will never meet in this life, after in some cases years of knowing you online, I call you friends. I love you all.

But I digress….

Most of you know I work at a rehab/long term care facility. Last week, a husband of one of our residents called up the facility and said that he was going to come in and shoot everyone in the building. The threat was repeated a second time. I can’t say everything that happened because of HIPPA regulations, but suffice it to say, it was pretty heavy stuff. May I also say that no one went home because of it; no one left our residents vulnerable.

The police arrested the man last night and in his home found a loaded AR-15 semiautomatic rifle, the same type of weapon used in many of the recent mass shootings. It made front page news here in Eugene. The picture above is that very rifle, the last thing a beloved resident, a treasured co-worker, or myself might have ever seen.

What else do I want to say about it? No rants, no debates, just that I am glad to be here.

May all beings live in peace, free from greed and hatred.

6 Responses

  1. […] Read this article: But I digress…… […]

  2. I am so glad everyone is safe and the police arrested him before he could carry out his plan. Thinking of you, Jaimie.

  3. How awful. So glad the police got to him in time. I hope everyone is able to carry on without too much fear of what could have been.

  4. Oh how scary. Glad to hear that everyone is ok and the police were able to resolve this issue peacefully.

  5. That’s terribly scary. How awful – we live in fear of the next mass shooting. What’s going on in America

  6. Oh my. I don’t know what to say. I feel perplexed and sad.

Leave a Reply

