Sunday Salon – Those Gray and Dreary Winter Days…

TSSbadge4[1]…are great for reading! We are having some cold, rainy, freezing fog out here in Oregon and every moment of the day looks the same outside. Gray skies and sometimes for a change, dark gray skies. Perfect weather for starting a fire, getting out the blankies, and snuggling up with my dogs for an afternoon of reading.

Last term at school I spent most of my free time studying and got excellent grades. Sounds great, but I was beginning to resent it. This term, I decided to have a bit of a life. I am not spending quite as much time studying, and have gone back to reading for pleasure and blogging more. My grades have dropped a bit, as expected, but I decided it is worth it, just to do a few things that matter to me outside of work and school. I feel happier and more balanced. Getting A’s is not the most important thing in life.

93091716With that in mind I am reading Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: An Inquiry into Values by Rober M. Persig. It’s not a straight through reading: I am taking it slow, putting it down and picking it back up. It’s a very good book, that shows how an individual, by embracing the complexities and ambiguities of life, can find positive answers in his life. The writer is not afraid to be angry and irritated, but does not lash out at others. He is almost an observer, and embraces the ebb and flow of life.

Many people call it life changing. I wouldn’t go that far but it has definitely made me think about things. It encourages me to slow down, think more, react less, try to understand someone else’s point of view. Good stuff.

The other book I am reading is Mystic River by Dennis Lehane. I never saw the movie but I can tell you, the book is great! Sometimes when a story starts with a childhood event, it can bog things down to the point of tiresome. Not here! I should be done and have a review up by next week, hopefully.

Hope everyone has a great week!

2 Responses

  1. I loved Mystic River (the movie), but need to read this author’s work. Thanks for sharing….and I love Oregon! I have never lived there…only visited. But I have wonderful memories of times spent there.

    Despite the rain, etc., Oregon and Washington are my two favorite states.

    Yes, California has its upside, but I’m having a hard time finding it lately…lol

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. Havent read the Zen book but I’ve heard it’s groovy and unconventional. Look forward to more of your thoughts on it. cheers. http://www.thecuecard.com/

Leave a Reply

