I’m a Free Woman!… Sort of…

DSC00796

Yesterday was my last night at work! After working full time and going to nursing school full time, I finally took the plunge and quit to focus on school. It is both super scary and a tremendous relief. So here I am, up at 6:00 am, typing on my computer. I couldn’t even sleep in the first day! I figure it may take some time to sink in.

So what have I been reading lately? Uh….nursing books. Does that count? I found the underlying themes for the Gastrointestinal Disorders chapter quite riveting. Sorry, I’m feeling a little punchy. Did I mention I just quit my job?

One of my goals is to post every week in Sunday Salon. And a super-duper goal is to do two regular blog posts a week, one for cross stitch, one for books.  Which of course means I need to find time to read and do cross stitch every week.

I have other goals too. One is to get my health back. I am run down. I used to kid around that I had chronic fatigue syndrome, but in the last month, it was no joke.

I’m thinking about making some coffee and watching the sunrise. It’s going to be a beautiful day.

7 Responses

  1. I can imagine that decision might be scary, but it seems like a good way to get a little more rest. I hope your fatigue gets better soon! And yes, of course nursing books count. Sometimes there really isn’t any time for any other reading, and there’s no shame in that. Good luck with all the changes!

  2. What a wonderful feeling is freedom…I had not felt it in such a long time, and when I officially retired to do my freelance writing (and blogging), I realized that every waking day is like a treasure. Enjoy!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  3. Kudos. Use your free time well.

  4. Good job quitting your job. Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do, right? It’s temporary – get through it and past it! I’m actually in a sort of similar situation (you’ll see in My Sunday Salon). I’ve sort of changed career paths because I think I’d like to focus more on life than on work. Difficult decision when you’ve had as much school as I have!

  5. Congrats on your new found Freedom! You deserve to focus on your nursing school. Take a breather and catch up on your health. Cheers. http://www.thecuecard.com/

  6. Whew! It must be a relief to be able to focus solely on school, although I know it will seem strange for awhile. Soon you’ll wonder where all that extra free time went that you are enjoying now as you’ll fill it up so fast. Best wishes to you, Jaimie!

  7. Congratulations on your freedom! Sometimes quitting your job is the best thing you can do for you. I’d be sure to pop by your blog. Happy posting!

Leave a Reply

