I’m Going to Try Camping!

me and Jim

I have to admit, I love my comfort. A soft bed, heat and air conditioning, the absence of critters. I still can’t believe that I am the one that brought up camping!

Background: I work in a stressful job. I love being a nurse, and the added responsibilities of clinical care manager stretch my critical thinking skills, and allows me to bring high standards of care to my residents. But it takes its toll. Vacation is one of those things that have gone by the wayside.

But we need it. I was checking out some cabin vacation rentals, and wow are they expensive! I don’t want to spend over 1000.00 for 4 days! And getting a travel trailer is another huge expense.

Finally I just said to Jim, “Screw it, let’s just get a tent and go camping.” He turned to me so fast, I though his head would swivel off his head. “You mean it? You would go camping?”  Sure. Why not? Uh, can I back out of this?

Jim started listing things we need, and looked up tents on the internet. That night and all day yesterday, we were running around to different stores, checking stuff out, comparing prices, and the like. And yes, he started an excel spreadsheet for what we need to buy at what store!

I have to say, Jim is totally concerned about me being comfortable. It kind of makes me feel bad, but I had no idea how much he wanted to camp.  He found a very nice tent, then found it cheaper on Amazon, and lots of little goodies that will make a camping trip a pleasant experience for both of us. I’m actually kind of excited.

Necklace

In other news, Zach made me a necklace. Or should I say, He found a green bead, wanted to make me a necklace, Elizabeth did the actual beadwork, but Zach supervised production. Either way I love it! Here’s a picture of us on the way to church.

 

 

2 Responses

  1. I am glad that I went camping when I was a kid because I am not sure I would start as an adult. I hope you have a great time 🙂

  2. Thanks Laura! I think we will. A lot has changed since I was a kid, and it looks like it will be more comfortable, hence, more fun! Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

