What I Did Last Saturday Night…. Spoiler: I Organized!

messy bookshelfOk, that doesn’t sound so exciting. But it really, really had to be done. I love my den, it’s such a cozy, comfy spot where you can just curl up and read, watch TV, eat, take your shoes off, throw junk around. You get the idea. I didn’t get a picture of it, but I found many, MANY pairs of shoes under the coffee table.

How did it this happen? It was like I woke up on Saturday night and finally saw the disaster area my comfy little nest had become.  I decided to tackle the really bad corner, where my bookshelves are.

messy shelvesWhat a mess! Oh, and that light on the left isn’t turned off for effect, the lightbulb had burned out and I just ignored it for I don’t know how long.

So we got started. My husband, cheerfully (!) took out the printer, chair, and all the big junky stuff. Oh yes, and he put a new lightbulb in the lamp. Then I started cleaning. Truthfully, and surprisingly, it wasn’t dirty, just a clutter trap. I decided to prettify the bookshelves somewhat. This is whaat I ended up with. If not beautiful, at least more organized.

clean bookshelf

Much better! Now I tackled the bigger shelves. I really tried hard on this one, you know, putting authors and subjects together. Or at least size of books. I realized that it could take a very long time to get it done perfectly, and I was running out of gas, so I called it a wrap. It looks ok, I think.

messy bookshelvesNot too bad for an evening’s work. The little dish on the table is to hold my scissors for cross stitch. I will be making a stitching nest for my next organization project. Stay tuned!

2 Responses

  1. You have reminded me that I really need to tidy up my stitching corner although that has really turned into a whole room! Your corner looks lovely and tidy and very cozy.

Leave a Reply

